The Infinite Sea

*Note: this has been posted on a previous blog of mine, so if you have seen it before, I promise it is still my original writing.

Two blog posts in one day?! Well I didn’t have class today and had a few books queued, so here we are…don’t get used to it though 😉

Let me just start off by saying, I am generally not a fan of alien novels, TV shows, or movies. The only exception has ever been Men In Black, simply because I have an undying love for Will Smith and his humour. Generally, though, aliens just put me off. I don’t like how they are portrayed, for the most part, as green multiply eyed creatures from a foreign planet and wreak havoc by eating humans and kidnapping humans. However, I had been hearing from the various book blogs and vlogs that I follow that The 5th Wave was a book that needed to be read, and would leap into the public spotlight shortly. As usual, they were correct, and the book has quickly come to international attention. I would attribute it to Rick Yancey’s unique approach to an alien apocalypse. Granted, this is the only alien novel I have ever read, however he creates a unique species. They are incredibly advanced, both intellectually and technologically. There is no clear indication of what they look like; it is simply known that they were inserted into fetuses to await awakening years later. I must applaud Yancey on his successful portrayal of multiple points of view throughout the book; he successfully creates and builds upon each individual character, and then slowly weave their lives together, so that by the end of the book it all become one. Cassie is a much needed strong female antagonist, who I greatly enjoyed reading. She is living through an extremely harrowing experience, and she is not afraid at times to show how helpless and weak she feels, despite the fact she is far from helpless. The end of The 5thWave left me wanting so much more, due to it’s ambiguous ending. At the time I finished, I was not aware there would be not only a sequel, but in fact the series was a trilogy. Since then I have awaited The Infinite Sea with itchy fingers.

**Note: all of my reviews will contain spoilers, so read at your own risk**

I’m not entirely sure how I feel about The Infinite Sea. I feel like this series had a lot of potential to be a solid, hard-hitting storyline about what a realistic alien apocalypse would look like (should aliens turn out to be real). However, Yancey sends the reader on a roller-coaster of theories, to the point where the reader is just as unsure of what’s real as the characters in the book are. The last 100 pages completely tore apart any understanding I had of what the world they were living in looked like. Any theory I had was completely smashed.

Yancey also reduced Cassie’s role/POV in Infinite Sea, which slightly upset me. I like Cassie; she’s a smart, tough, sassy, don’t-mess-with-me girl, who managed to maintain her humanity through everything that happened to her. She was a solid protagonist with a ton of potential. The chemistry, and storyline even, that she had with Evan was fascinating. It is one of my favorite couples in YA currently. For some reason, though, Yancey felt the need to shove Cassie to the back, and center literally half the book on Ringer. Ringer’s POV finishes out the second half of the book, and from what I can tell, her storyline will be the center one for the third book. This enormously disappoints me. I am a huge fan of Cassie’s character; Ringer’s not so much. I will still purchase the third book, simply out of curiosity, but for the future, I will likely treat The 5th Wave as a stand-alone book. Unless of course the third book completely blows me away. At the moment though, the series seems to be heading down the same path of the Hunger Games series: a path of increasing disappointment.

All in all, I would give this book a 2.5/5. The first book was incredible and blew me away, this one not so much. Not only was it about 200 pages shorter, the writing was much more chaotic. In my review of the first book, I praised Yancey for being able to successfully portray several different POVs. In this book however, he is not quite as successful. He uses so many alternating POVs that it leaves the reader unsure of who the main character is anymore, and what exactly is happening in the book. The writing was chaotic and all over the place; there was a lot of overuse of metaphors and sentence fragments. I would still suggest that readers of the first book read this sequel, however I would not get your hopes up.

Until next time,

Gracie 🙂

1 Comment

  1. I actually enjoyed this book about as much as it’s prequel. I actually didn’t get confused as to who’s pov i was reading from because I’d gotten used to his writing in The 5th Wave. This series is no doubt my favorite Sci-Fi and I think this book introduced a lot of new very interesting information. The way the series seems to be going now is so uniquely brilliant, and I’m excited for the last book this year (:

    Like

Leave a Reply

