Now Playing: Against the Current’s Gravity EP

atcposterthumb_1024x1024

“We have one foot in the rock world and one in the pop world. A lot of rock fans are against whatever’s mainstream or on the radiop, and pop fans don’t really understand rock music. I want to break down those walls.” 

-Chrissy Costanza, lead singer

At the beginning of summer 2014, I made a beautiful discovery. I was browsing covers of “She Looks So Perfect” by 5 Seconds of Summer, when I came across Against the Current’s cover of the song. Chrissy Costanza’s unique and angelic voice drew me in, and I spent over an hour watching the band’s other covers. Luckily for me, a week earlier they had released their first official EP, Infinity, with original songs by the band. They’re a three-person pop-rock band that holds a lot of promise and is definitely going to be on the radar very, very soon.  Now, a little less than a year later, they’ve released their second EP, Gravity, and it is even better than the first. Chrissy’s vocals have grown even stronger, and the lyrics are much more complex and impactful.

The album starts off with the title song of the EP, Gravity. The song is both mournful and upbeat. Chrissy’s vocals are soft and gentle in the intro, before the song explodes into a rock chorus as the vocals soar. She really demonstrates her vocal range in this song, and the chorus excellently showcases the talents of drummer Will Ferri and guitarist Daniel Gow. The lyrics tell the story of someone who has gone through a great loss, saying, “When the ground drops out I get lost in the clouds/Save me now?/You were my gravity/Now my world is shattering.” With heartfelt lyrics and a strong instrumental, this song is standout on the album.

Gravity is followed by Talk, the story of a girl who knows the boy she loves has more than one girl. It’s about seeing through someone’s bullshit in a relationship, and the emotion in Chrissy’s voice portrays that. She sings, “So why don’t we just call it what it is?/’Cause everybody knows you’re full of shit.” While it wasn’t my favorite on the album, it definitely isn’t a bad song.

Paralyzed and Fireproof are arguably the strongest songs on the album, vocally, instrumentally, and lyrically. These songs have the strongest “rock” sound, with strong drumming segments and guitar riffs. Chrissy’s voice is explosive in both these songs, which matches perfectly with the impassioned lyrics, like “It feels like I’m paralyzed, and I can’t/Escape from the prison I’m, living in/I’m naming the voices in my head/They keep on telling me to give in” from Paralyzed and “I hope your hands burn, when you touch her/I won’t be the cure for the scars you’ve earned/You lit the fuse, thought I’d burn too/But you’re playing with a heart that’s fireproof” from Fireproof. Both are strong, and Fireproof is probably my favorite song by the band yet.

Even the ballads of the album, Dreaming Alone and Brighter are upbeat and something a person could easily dance along to. They have bittersweet lyrics, and Chrissy’s voice has a much softer edge than in the previous songs of the album. The lyrics are wistful in Dreaming Alone, “Don’t lie, bright eyes/Is it me that you see?/Tell me I’m not dreaming alone” and hopeful in Brighter, “I want something more, a life worth fighting for/I don’t need a reason, to set the world on fire/And burn a little bit brighter now.” Both songs are strong additions to the album.

As a whole, this EP is full of talent and potential. I really think this EP will be the one that puts Against the Current on a lot of people’s radars, and I see a bright future for this band.

Also, check out the recent Gravity music video (it’s absolutely incredible!).

Leave a Reply

