Roomies

 

“A good thing about being so close to someone is that they know you so well. A bad thing about being so close to someone is that they know you so well.”

This book was just one big package of total adorableness. I don’t think that’s a real word, but it’s what I’m using. This book is one of those happy, fluffy, romances that you read while at the beach or park. It’s a quick, light read, that I would definitely recommend. There are a few adult themes, such as parental abuse, but other than that it’s a quirky and humorous novel.

This is the story of Kennedy, a sharp-witted 20 year old, and her roommate Graham, the nice-guy golf instructor. Over the year they’ve been roommates, they’ve developed feelings for each other, but aren’t sure how to tell each other without ruining the friendship, so they stay quiet. Enter Blake Malone, Graham’s bad-boy, motorcycle-riding, brother. Kennedy is attracted to him (naturally) and Graham begins to get jealous (naturally).

Be warned, the voice of Kennedy, the narrator, is not for everybody. Initially, I didn’t like her, and I almost stopped reading, but I’m so glad I didn’t. She has a clearly unique voice, and in a way it’s very real. It’s not polished and refined, like most narrators. Instead, it’s like reading the diary of your average lovesick 20-year-old. Personally, I loved her voice. I appreciated this fresh viewpoint, but after reading several reviews, I realized it wasn’t for everybody. Kennedy is still a very lovable character though. She’s quirky, funny, blunt, and honestly reminds me a bit of myself. She’s insecure, much like most girls her age, and she uses sarcasm and bluntness to cover it up. Her roommate, Graham, sees past this though. He is your typical nice-guy, but he’s not boring like most of those characters are. He puts up with Kennedy’s blunt and quirky personality, and even finds it endearing. Blake is the jaded, bad-boy brother that Kennedy is instantly drawn to. However, this make Graham realize he may have waited too long to reveal his feelings. A love-triangle of sort ensues. Often in this situation, I would be rooting for Kennedy to reform the bad-boy and the two live happily ever after. However, several factors changed my mind. Firstly, Blake seems like he doesn’t want to be saved. In fact, it appears he’s just messing with Kennedy to make his brother jealous, which is what made me begin to dislike his character. He toys with the emotions of both Kennedy and Graham, and begins to drive a wedge in what seems to be a rock-solid relationship. Secondly, like I said before, Graham is the nice-guy, but he is in no way boring. He truly accepts every single one of her quirks, and works to get rid of her insecurities. He has his own demons too, that Kennedy learns of and helps him work through. He never gets angry with her, only irritated (which is understandable because she irritated me at times as well), and he is always there for her. Thirdly, it’s clear from the beginning Kennedy and Graham are meant for each other. He calls her Ken, and she calls him Barbie (adorable, I know). I love their cute little apartment, with inspirational quotes on the wall. I love Graham’s neurotic cleanliness that clashes with Kennedy’s haphazard clumsiness.

What I love best about their relationship is that they don’t “save” each other. All too often in romance stories like this, they “save each other”, and you know that if they were ever to break up, they would completely fall apart. Instead, Graham and Kennedy “bring light” to each other’s lives, and that light chases away to demons. Kennedy says at the end of the book, “Graham doesn’t fill a hole inside me. He doesn’t fix what is broken. He just makes everything brighter.” That quote sums up perfectly why I loved this book so much.

I give this book a 5/5 rating, and I definitely think you should pick it up today! The link to its amazon page is here, and the kindle edition is only $2.99, so really there are no excuses.

23152710-1

The cover get’s a 4/5. It’s cute, and matches the mood of the book. The only thing that puts me off are the shoes, of all things. After reading Graham’s character, those shoes seem very juvenile for him. The tall black heels on Kennedy are too adult for her, and the shoes themselves contradict each other. But aside from that little shoe rant (I know, I’m a bit ridiculous), I love the cover.

Leave a Reply

