The Fifth Wave hits the Big Screen

Lately, I’ve been pretty disappointed with YA page-screen adaptions. It all started in 2012 with the Hunger Games movie adaption. The cast was fantastic (except for Peeta…still not thrilled about the J Hutch casting for that). However, the movie fell flat. It felt rushed, and and lacked the raw, brutal element that the book had. Granted, as the trilogy progressed, the movies improved, I’ll give them that. The destruction of my favorite and most beloved books came with The Host (2013), The Mortal Instruments: City of Bones (2013), and Divergent (2014) to name a few.
Often, it’s a either bad casting (looking at you, City of Bones), or bad cinematography and digital effects…or it just sucks all around and you’re left wondering why they even tried in the first place. Granted, there have been a few good ones (The Fault in Our Stars, Maze Runner), but they are few and far between.
However, I’ve seen the light. A tiny spark of hope has been placed in my heart. What, you ask, gave me this tiny butterfly of hope? The Fifth Wave movie trailer.
The Fifth Wave is the first book in Rick Yancey’s phenomenal trilogy about one girls struggle to save the ones she love in the midst of an apocalyptic alien invasion. It features one of the strongest heroines in current YA Lit, and a complex storyline that will leave your mind blown. So far both book one and two have been released (and reviews by yours truly), however the third book, The Last Star, won’t be released until 2016. Coincidentally, the movie will be released the same year. Basically, 2016 will be a beautiful year for the Fifth Wave fandom.

FullSizeRender-3

Nick Robinson (L), Chloe Grace Moretz (C) and Alex Roe (R) who will portray Ben Parish, Cassie Sullivan, and Evan Walker, respectively.

So why, you ask, am I so excited for this movie, after I have lived through many painfully horrible adaptions? It’s a complicated answer. It starts with Chloe Grace Moretz. I absolutely love this actress. She’s 100% capable for brining tough as nails Cassie to life on the big screen. She arguably one of the biggest young actresses, along side power houses like Shailene Woodley and Lilly Collins. She was definitely my fan pick for the role of Cassie, so I was ecstatic when that became a reality. Seeing. Her performance in the trailer only cemented my faith in her. Alongside Moretz is Liev Schreiber, who will portray Colonel Vosch. I personally think he will be perfect for that role; I didn’t really have a fan pick for that role, but he is perfect. I’ve seen him in several other movies, and I think he’ll be able to capture the intensity that Vosch brings to the storyline.
The rest of the cast, however, I’m hesitant on, mostly due to the act that I’m very unfamiliar with them. Maika Monroe has the right look for Ringer, however I’ve never seen any of her previous movies, so I have no background on her acting skills. Same goes for Alex Roe, who will be portraying the delicious Evan Walker, and Ron Livingston, who was cast as Oliver Sullivan, Cassie’s (badass) dad.
The only casting choice I don’t like is Nick Robinson as Ben Parish. In the books, Parish is a tough, built, jock type who has no problem meeting the physical requirements of a soldier. I had pictured someone like Colton Haynes or Ryan Kelley. He’s also still a relatively new actor when it comes to blockbuster films; the biggest project on his resume is Jurassic World. While he did a good job in that film, he lacked the intensity and toughness that Parish possessed in the books. He strikes me more as the nerd character type that soldier. But that’s my personal opinion, and hey, maybe I’ll be pleasantly surprised. I’m also slightly hesitant on Alex Roe as Evan Walker. I’ve seen him in absolutely nothing, and have no idea what to expect, aside from the 30 seconds we saw in the trailer. I had pictured someone just a little bit older and bulkier than Alex. It’s made clear in the book that Evan is older than Cassie, and definitely world weary and tough. We’ll see though, we’ll see. The beautiful thing about Cassie is that she doesn’t need a strong love interest to make her interesting, the girl is a badass all on her own. The same goes for Chloe Grace Moretz; I have no doubt that girl can carry the movie if need be. Most of the first book has to do with Cassie anyway. It’s not until the second book that we’re bombarded with a variety of supporting characters. That’s where Ringer comes front and center, along with several other characters who will only have minute roles in the Fifth Wave. In fact, it’s probably the second movie I should really be worried about, not the first. But I digress.
Casting choices aside, the trailer was phenomenal. It gave me hope for this movie, because trust me, I was upset when they announced the movie was being adapted to the silver screen. How could they ruin a book as amazing and game-changing as the Fifth Wave?! Before the Fifth Wave, I had been anti-sci-fi. After reading it, I couldn’t get enough. It opened up a whole new world for me. Now, though, my fears are being quieted. Not only does it look like the cast will do a good job of bringing their characters to life, the CGI, digital effects, and cinematography looks well done. This is an apocalypticย  movie, which means a lot of destruction that has to be done digitally. Based off of the trailer, though, it looks like the digital effects team has done a phenomenal job with that…clearly not the same team that worked on the Hunger Games movie.
Mark your calendars for January 15, 2016 y’all. Sony is ringing in the new year with a blockbuster about aliens featuring a kick ass heroine. What more could we ask for? Hopefully it will set the tone for 2016 movies, in a good way of course. Check out the trailer below to get your first taste of this sure-to-be phenomenal movie.

1 Comment

  1. I just finished reading the first book in the trilogy yesterday. Can’t say I’m eager to see the movie (like you, wary of movie adaptations), but we’ll see.. My 5th Wave Review if you’re interested.

    Like

Leave a Reply

