Love Gets Ugly in 2016

It’s a book that’s been referred to as “The Notebook meets Fifty Shades of Grey,” and rightfully so. It has the tender, heart wrenching romance of The Notebook and the steamy chemistry of Fifty Shades of Grey…sans shitty writing and abusive relationship, of course. This is Colleen Hoover we’re talking about. She’s probably definitely my favorite New Adult author, and if you haven’t read any of her books, you’re seriously missing out. Seriously…get your butt to a bookstore ASAP. Or, if you’re lazy like me, grab your e-reader and hit that nifty little “purchase” button. No car ride necessary!

tumblr_static_tumblr_static_69m50f09wdc0ss008g8og8gcw_640

Usually, my reaction to the news that one of my favorite books is being turned into a movie isn’t excited squealing followed by a victory dance around my room. However, that’s exactly what happened when I realized Colleen Hoover’s Ugly Love was hitting the big screen in 2016.This obviously isn’t going to have the largest budget, and the cast list isn’t going to be filled with A-list actors. However, it’s often the Indie movies that bring books to life the best. They often aren’t over hyped, or over produced. The actors are talented, and not your typical type-castes romance actors or actresses (looking at you, McAdams). It hasn’t even begun filming, however the release date is currently set for February 1st. I’ve seen a lot of comparisons to the oh so infamous Fifty Shades of Grey. Don’t let them fool you, Ugly Love is in a whole different time space continuum than FSOG.

The synopsis for Ugly Love reads:

When Tate Collins meets airline pilot Miles Archer, she knows it isn’t love at first sight. They wouldn’t even go so far as to consider themselves friends. The only thing Tate and Miles have in common is an undeniable mutual attraction. Once their desires are out in the open, they realize they have the perfect set-up. He doesn’t want love, she doesn’t have time for love, so that just leaves the sex. Their arrangement could be surprisingly seamless, as long as Tate can stick to the only two rules Miles has for her.

Never ask about the past.
Don’t expect a future.

They think they can handle it, but realize almost immediately they can’t handle it at all.

Hearts get infiltrated.
Promises get broken.
Rules get shattered.
Love gets ugly.

How can that not be a blockbuster hit?!?

My introduction to Ugly Love was an impulse buy while standing in the Charlotte-Douglas International airport. My roommate had introduced me to Colleen Hoover by pretty much throwing Hopeless at me, saying it would be most touching and heart wrenching book I had ever read (she was right, it was). So when I saw Colleen Hoover’s latest release sitting on that airport bookstore’s shelf, I knew I had no other choice than to buy it. I spent the next two hours being ripped apart at 30,000 feet. Honest to God, I cried on an airplane over fictional characters (I NEVER cry in public). However, I never posted a review. It wasn’t that I didn’t love Ugly Love, because I did. Rather, it just wasn’t the right time. Over the next few weeks I was super busy with finals, and at the time Perks was strictly a YA blog, and trust me, Ugly Love is NOT YA. Since I’ll be posting a movie review, I’m not going to post a book review. I will give you this piece of advice though: READ IT. You won’t regret it. And DEFINITELY read it before watching movie. I don’t want you missing out on the greatness that is this book on the off chance that the movie sucks and you decide the if the movie sucks then the book must suck (that’s definitely not the case, pretty much ever).

Colleen Hoover has confirmed she is not a part of the movie or the movie making process for Ugly Love. However, she has told HNGN that she has “absolute confidence that Hackybox Pictures will do the book justice” and is “excited to see how it plays out.” If Colleen is confident, I am confident. Colleen has also spoken to Nick Bateman, who is set to play Miles Archer, at length. After this meeting, she said “I have faith that he’ll bring this character to life.” Again, is Colleen is confident, so am I.

1-23-R1

The gorgeous Nick Bateman, who will portray the mysteriously sexy Miles Archer.

Casting is an extremely important part of movie production (duh). A cast can make or break a movie; if you have a great script, but shitty cast, your movies going to be a flop. Additionally, the casting announcements can set the anticipation tone for the movie. If a new movie is announced and Jennifer Lawrence is the main lead, then obviously people are going to be excited and it will be a hotly anticipated movie. If the cast is comprised of nobodies, it will be hard to build hype. Those movies can also be surprise blockbusters though, so never doubt the nobodies. Never. Ever. As for Ugly Love’s cast, there’s not much to go on this point. Miles, the male protagonist, has been cast, and the fans are thrilled with the choice: Nick Bateman. He was an extremely popular choice among fans for the role of Miles, before there was even talk of a movie being made. Bateman was actually up for the role of Christian Grey, thankfully though, he didn’t get the role. We wouldn’t want that beautiful man to be a part of that god awful train wreck of a movie. This worked out well for Ugly Love fans, because it had become clear he was in the hunt for a romance lead role. His acting skills remain to be scene, since he’s mostly been a model up to this point. It’s hard not to support him though, with those smoldering eyes and delicious abs. The only other character that has been cast is Cody Hackman as Corbin Collins, Tate’s brother as well as Mile’s best friend and fellow pilot.
The important role of Tate Collins is still up for grabs. I’ve seen several actress rumored to be up for the role, including Zoey Deutch, Nina Dobrev, Shelley Hennig, and Lily Collins. Personally, I would chose Zoey Deutch, but that’s just my Zoey Deutch bias speaking. I think she posses Tate’s toughness, but also her sweetness and vulnerability. I also wouldn’t be opposed to Lily Collins (LOVE HER).  We’ll see though.

FullSizeRender-4

Zoey Deutch (L), Nina Dobrev (C) and Lily Collins (R) are all rumored to be in the running for the role of Tate Collins.

I think the only thing that irritates me so far in the process of the making of this film is the constant comparison to Fifty Shades of Grey. That was a horribly written book about an abusive relationship and some really kinked out, weird shit. I’ve never read the book (I’ve got better things to do), but I’ve read enough movie reviews and book reviews of it to have a pretty good understanding on the quality of the book and movie. Ugly Love will be nothing like that. For starters, the book is much better quality, not only based off of the storyline, but also the writing quality. This probably stems from the fact that Ugly Love is an original story, and FSOG was some sad attempt at Twilight fan fiction. TWILIGHT, people.  Then, you have to consider the male lead. Nick Bateman instead of Jamie Dornan? Yes please. He’s a male model for crying out loud. Hard to go wrong there. So please, stop the comparisons. This is a critically-acclaimed novel, written by a #1 New York Times Bestselling Author, with a love story so deep it doesn’t need whips, chains, and bondage to make it interesting.

I’ve said my piece, now it’s up to you. First, check out the teaser trailer below. Once that’s hooked you, pick up a copy of Ugly Love and start reading (you can thank me later). And, of course, be sure to get your ass to the theatre once this movie is released, because trust me, it will be worth every penny. Also, support them, and stay up-to-date on news by liking the movie’s Facebook page!

Leave a Reply

