Confess

Ladies and gentleman, Colleen Hoover has done it again. I have literally never, ever been disappointed in single novel this woman has written. Hell, I’ve never even been disappointed with a single word she’s written; every single word blends together to form magical paragraphs, that form heart wrenching chapters, which in turn create a masterpiece. I’ve been asked many times, “Which Colleen Hoover book is your favorite?” Honestly, I couldn’t pick one. Each one is so incredibly unique. Ugly Love is brutally heart-wrenching, reading Hopeless feels like getting shot repeatedlyย (description courtesy of my roommate), and Maybe Someday is extremely bittersweet…a lot like a grapefruit. The one thing they have in common: a beautiful love story, with endings that make every single tear-wrenching sentence completely worth it.

Confess is no different than her other books in its formula, but it’s completely unique in its own special way. Hoover immediately draws you in with her addictively compelling writing style…no, seriously, I meanย immediately. I was crying in theย prologue.ย Pathetic? Probably. But I don’t care. Now, normally, I don’t care much for insta-love. In fact, I hate it. Colleen Hoover, though, has a way of twisting it with her (magical) words to the point you don’t even realize it’s insta-love until someone points it out. Even then, you don’t really care. What Owen and Auburn has seems so incredibly real that I didn’t care they fell in love after only 5 days. That may be the hopeless romantic in me, the one who believes soul mates are real, and that you’ll know it the moment you meet them.

Auburn was a lot like most of Hoover’s female protagonists; a young girl in a difficult place, wondering how life could get any worse. Then, she meets Owen, and her world changes. I admire her strength and dedication though. The sacrifices she made for the people she loved was incredible and inspiring. I’ve seen some people refer to her as whiny, but I don’t think that’s fair. When you take a step back and look at what she’s been through, added to what she’s currently struggling through out of sacrificial love, then maybe her “whining” is justified. In my opinion at least, Auburn was the strongest female character of Hoover’s novels, and I respect the hell out of her.

Hoover has two stock characters for male protagonists it seems: tortured bad boy with a good heart, and tortured artists who rivals a small puppy for sweetness and lovability level. Not that the bad boys aren’t lovable (they’re my favorite, actually). Owen falls under the latter category, which I felt was the right match for Auburn. She had enough crap in her life without adding a “bad boy” love interest. Instead, Owen is perfect; he’s a sweet, kind man, who loves with a heart that only artists have. They feel so deeply, and that translates over into their level of devotion to the ones they love. In retrospect, Owen makes the same kinds of sacrfifces for those he loves that Auburn does. In a way, that makes them a perfect match. Dean from Hopeless still holds the title of “favorite Hoover male protagonist”, but Owen comes a close second…actually he’s in a tie for second with Miles Archer from Ugly Love, but you get the point. Owen is awesome.

What I loved about Owen and Auburn’s relationship specifically was the casual normality of it. Yes, they had issues in their lives, but they didn’t have the incredibly deep, dark secrets in their pasts that most other couples in Hoover’s books have. Instead of intense scenes between couples, doing things like work past the trauma of childhood rape, they were adorable. They did things like mini scavenger hunts in Target, excitement over frozen pizza, and drunken hair-cutting escapades. It created the perfect mixture of light-hearted romance and heart-wrenching sadness.

What really sold this book for me, though, were the confessions. It is, after all, what the book is written about. But OMG (see what I did there), this element of the book was breathtaking. I’m not sure where Colleen Hoover came up with the idea, but it’s absolute brilliance. In the book, Owen runs a small art galley, carrying only his artwork. He draws his inspiration from confessions place anonymously in a box outside of his gallery. The results are breathtaking. Colleen Hoover actually requisitioned paintings to be included in the text, and they are printed in color in a section of the book. Not only that, but she revealed that every confession in the book was an authentic one submitted to her during the writing process. Talk about a unique book, am I right? This element is what sets Confess apart from the rest of her books, and what immediately drew me in.

Confess was raw, touching, and beautiful. I couldn’t put it down-even my second time reading it I had to read it in one sitting because I was so entrenched in Auburn and Owen’s world. Whimsical, touching, humorous, and timeless, Confess is the perfect book to pick up to cure any pre-November 9 jitters you may have. SO, while you’re waiting for November 9 to be released on November 10 (?!), grab a copy of Confess…and make sure you have enough time set aside to finish it in one sitting. Seriously. It’s that good.

Leave a Reply

