The Allure of Dean Harper

I can’t remember the last time I read a romance book that so fun. 

That was full of vibrant, happy, quirky, and hilarious characters that had me laughing at their shenanigans until tears ran down my face. Sure, I’ve watched plenty (maybe too many) romantic comedies, but never have I ever read a romantic comedy. Wow, I had no idea what I was missing out on. If one thing is for sure, The Allure of Dean Harper by R.S. Grey has completely sold me on the romantic comedy genre. I have a feeling I won’t be able to get enough of these books. I’ll definitely be buying the first book in the Allure series, The Allure of Julian Lefray, as well as checking out her other rom coms. This book was like drinking a cup of sunshine.

Normally, I try to sum up the book in my own words, but the official blurb for this book is just too damn good, so I’m going to use that one:

Good morning my dear, naive friend,

I hope you’re enjoying a breakfast of regret and sorrow.

Why?

Because you sent me to work for Dean Harper, aka a control freak in a tailor-made suit. Sure he owns the trendiest restaurants in NYC, but c’mon Jo, his ego makes Kanye West look like the Dalai Lama.

He’s the type of guy that only hears the word “no” when it’s followed by “don’t stop.”

Working for Dean Harper would be like selling my soul to the devil…and before you say anything, I don’t care if the devil has punch-you-in-the-gut brown eyes and an ass to match. My soul isn’t for sale.

Love,
Regretfully yours,
Lily

To be honest, I was sold on this book from the moment I read that blurb. I had seen various pictures of the book on its release day, September 28, around Bookstagram, and felt compelled to at least check it out on Goodreads…and then I read that and promptly purchased it on my iPad.

“He thought he had me figured out. He thought he had the upper hand. How cute.”

I loved Lily SO MUCH. Finally a heroine who hadn’t been through some tragic even that made her emotions all messy, who spent the majority of the story complaining “woe is me.” Nope, Lily was all fire and sass and I loved her for it. Her confidence was intoxicating, and her refusal to back down on things she was passionate about was awesome–definitely traits I wished I had. Not once did she put up with Dean’s shit, and when he screwed up big time, she made him work to get her back. She knew how awesome and smart she was, and she refused to let anyone take advantage of her or try to belittle her. Honestly, who could read this and not fall in love with Lily?!

“I couldn’t decide where he fit in my mind’s Venn diagram. On the left side, I had people I hated, and on the right I had people I loved. Right in the middle, in a category of his own making, there was Dean Harper.”

Where Lily is bright and full of fire and life, Dean is a driven, controlling workaholic who doesn’t seem to have much of a life outside of his restaurant business. Sure, he’s a billionaire making it big in the Big Apple, but he’s existing, not living. Until he meets Lily, that is. She immediately puts him on edge, and not in a good way. I thought the man was going to have an aneurism in that first scene at the bar, and it was hilarious. He’s definitely not looking for love when he meets Lily, rather, his type is a one night stand who won’t create messy emotions that stand between him and his climb to the top of NYC’s food chain. However, the tension between Lily and him soon heats up, and he finds he’s helpless against her smartass wit. Has Dean Harper met his match? Yup, for sure and for certain.

Honestly, I’ve gotten a little tired of all the angst and baggage in most romance stories. Maybe I’ve just been reading too many of them and was due for some lighthearted romance, because this book was liking a shining ray of light. The romance was sweet, funny, sexy, and lighthearted. Dean and Lily have amazing chemistry, even when they’re at each other’s throats fighting, and the book moves along very quickly thanks to their fast-paced antics. I read this book from cover to cover and not once lost interest. Pretty sure I was laughing out loud (or at least partaking in some very unladylike snorting) after just the first few pages. The shenanigans these two and their friends get to are just too damn great. Not to be cliche or sound like a teenager, but these two, along with their best friends Julian and Josephine, are 100% squad goals. The dialogue between them was smart and witty, as if both had finally met their match. Combine their combined sharp wit with their stubborn temperaments and the underlying tension and you’ve got a dream couple. Honestly, I can’t say enough good things about this book! I have a feeling R.S. Grey is on the fast-track to becoming one of my favorite authors, and her books will routinely be making my most-anticipated lists. Maybe this book should be titled the Allure of R.S. Grey because I am completely hooked. The Allure of Dean Harper gets a 5/5 from me, and I highly recommend it.

Leave a Reply

