Scarlet

Little red riding hood ventures into the woods and meets…a sexy man named Wolf? Well, that’s how Marissa Meyer imagined this classic tale, and thank god for it because this was an amazing second installment in the Lunar Chronicles. I wasn’t expecting the second book to be a take on little red riding hood. Most adaptions or parallel’s often use the stories that originated as romances-Cinderella, Rapunzel, Sleeping Beauty, Snow White, Beauty and the Beast, etc– they’re all romances. But Marissa Meyer said screw the status quo (well, for the most part) and created a love story out of little red riding hood. And I absolutely loved it. This series has done nothing but impress me so far, and I feel Scarlet was the perfect continuation of a budding series. Oh, and did it mention it takes place in France? I love France…everyone loves France. Oui Oui!

After reading Cinder, I had been a little a lot let down by the hero. He was weak, and didn’t seem worthy of the awesome heroine, Cinder. Don’t get me wrong, I’m not saying that men have to be all manly and burly and rah rah manly, but Kai didn’t seem to be able to stand up for himself, and he turned his back on Cinder because of a simple trait of hers. Wolf, on the other hand, protected Scarlet, even when he knew he wasn’t supposed to, and he could be punished because of it. When it mattered most, he sided with Scarlet. And did I mention he was tall, dark and handsome? I’m a sucker for those. I did feel conflicted about his relationship with Scarlet. I don’t want to spoil anything, but there were decisions her made and actions he carried out that I felt were wrong, and they ultimately hurt Scarlet unnecessarily. That being said, I still believe he was still a huge improvement over Prince Kai, who seems awful dull and boring in comparison to Wolf’s brooding mysteriousness.

Scarlet is the main reason I’m not going to give this book five stars. It wasn’t that she was an annoying character. I just felt that we didn’t see enough of her to get a real idea of who she was. We only saw her concern first with finding her grandmother, and then her curiosity about Wolf. The by the time she figures him out, her world is sent into a tailspin and we see her go into crisis mode. Perhaps in the following books we’ll get a better idea of who she is. I hope we do, because I really am intrigued by her and I feel like there is huge potential for growth in her character.

Scarlet, like Cinder, receives 4/5 stars. This is mainly due to the underdevelopment of Scarlet herself. The main complaint I have about this series is the dual POV, because it limits our exploration of new characters. They don’t get enough page time for us to really get to know them. So I’m going to have to give this book 4/5 stars, but I’m optimistic that we’ll get more of Wolf and Scarlet’s characters in Cress.

1 Comment

  1. I rated this book the same when I reviewed it on my blog 🙂 I agree with you about Kai being a bit boring. I get why he’s important but he doesn’t really do anything.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

