Parallel

I’m just going to start out by saying, Lauren Miller wins the award for most unique plot lines. Seriously. I’ve read both of her books, and they are unlike anything I’ve ever read.
The detail in them, the complexity that completely absorbs the reader into the story, the carefully thought out plot line, and the thousands of loose ends within the books that seem impossible to bring together, yet she somehow manages to bring them together perfectly. This woman is brilliant. I’m also convinced that she is either extremely smart, an incredibly gifted researcher, or most probably a combination of the two. I received an ARC of Free to Fall and was enthralled by it. It was the most unique and interesting book I had ever read. Parallel blew Free to Fall out of the water. And the most surprising thing: Parallel was her debut novel. A debut novel like this only comes around once in a blue moon. A debut novel of this quality, of this complexity, is so rare.

I loved Parallel. But I’m going to be honest, I didn’t love it the entire time I was reading it. Abby grows throughout the novel, and she changes. In the middle of the story, I was ready to give up. I was annoyed with Abby, who seemed incredibly self-absorbed and shallow. I was annoyed with the ever changing storyline (which in the end is what makes this book so amazingly mind blowing). I was annoyed with the love triangle that isn’t actually a love triangle (read the book, you’ll understand). I was most of all, completely and utterly confused. But in the end, that’s what made this book so amazing, so enrapturing. I hit the last third of the book and I could not put it down. I can’t even begin to describe to summarize this book without giving something away, even if it is the smallest detail you can imagine. Because in this book, even the smallest, most seemingly irrelevant details, are incredibly important. That is part of what I love so much about this book.

I fully appreciate the effort and time Lauren Miller put into this book. It must have taken years  from the first initial idea of the story to the actual publication. This book is full of ideas so complex at times it made my head hurt. But I love that. I love when stories make me think, and question what I believe, and what I think. I love when I’m forced to read every single word so I don’t miss something. Our world is overrun by distractions, and I easily fall prey to those distractions, even when reading. So when I come across a book that pulls me in so fully, and makes my brain work so hard that I can’t be distracted, I am forever thankful to that author.

As I have said multiple times before, I loved Parallel. I loved the concept, I loved the storyline, I loved the characters (Josh, what a cutie (: ) The only thing I didn’t fully love was the ending. Lauren Miller had it literally perfect until the very last page and a half. Literally. I could see the end of the book, I thought for sure we where all out of plot twists and BAM. Something happened. I’m not going to say what it was, you deserve to read for yourself (SERIOUSLY. Read this book). But I’m not going to let the ending spoil it for me. This book was amazing, and is definitely going on my favorites shelf.

Hats off to you, Lauren Miller. I’m eagerly awaiting your next book. You are a unique author with incredible ideas in a world of authors who spit out the same stereotypical story lines simply with different characters. You are in a league of your very own, and so are your books.

So if you have not read Parallel, I suggest you drive to your closest bookstore and pick it up TODAY. And be sure to buy Free to Fall, her other amazing book!

Leave a Reply

